CANNABIS FRIENDLY STATES! WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW BEFORE YOU LIGHT UP!

Empire Rolling Papers 1 (ONE) Pack 10 (Ten) $100 Dollar Bill Plus Filter Tips $3.75 CLICK HERE

images-120
click here

Unknown-171

Marijuana Laws By State

The United States has quickly become an attractive global hotspot for marijuana. Medical marijuana use is now legal in 29 states, while recreational use is legal in 9, as well as Washington D.C.

The laws on marijuana use can vary from state to state– some have a limited-use policy on medical marijuana, meaning CBD and THC oils are available for certain medical conditions. Some have fully legalized marijuana for medical purposes and some for both recreational and medical purposes, although certain limits still apply.

Recreational and medical use states: Alaska, California, Colorado, Maine, Michigan, Massachusetts, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont, Washington

Medical use states: Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, West Virginia

All of these conflicting laws and regulations can be confusing, so here’s a detailed breakdown of the marijuana laws of each state

images-14

Alabama

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

Alabama has a limited policy on medical marijuana use- medical marijuana patients are able to possess CBD oil up to 3% THC.

Possession of marijuana was Possession of any amount of marijuana for personal use is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in prison or a $6,000 fine.

There have been efforts to reduce the punishments for marijuana use in Alabama, but these have seen resistance. With no efforts to legalize weed, Alabama may be a long way off being a free use state.

Unknown-80

Alaska

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

Marijuana is legal in Alaska both for medical and recreational use. Providing you are 21 or over, you are able to possess and use weed in Alaska. Be aware that public consumption is still punishable by a fine of up to $100, so if you light up, do it on your own private property.

Alaska residents are also able to possess and grow up to six marijuana plants- providing only three are mature and flowering at any given time.

Alaska has become a popular choice for weed tourists, boasting a tax revenue of over $1 million from marijuana sales last year. Various recreational stores are open to the public and you can expect to purchase a gram from around $20 on average.

images-114

Arizona

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Medical marijuana use is legal and thriving in Arizona with over 100 dispensaries open. You must be an Arizona resident with a medical marijuana card in order to purchase.

Possession of up to 2 lbs for non-medical use is still a Class 6 felony, punishable by up to 1.5 years incarceration and fines of up to $150,000.

There are various government initiatives and petitions to legalize marijuana in Arizona. Despite falling short the past few years, there are still active ongoing efforts meaning recreational use in the near future has a high possibility.

images-90

Arkansas

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Despite medical marijuana being legalized in Arkansas in 2016, the state has undergone huge difficulties in approving and opening dispensaries.

The government has put dispensary review on hold, meaning that patients may have to wait a while before being able to purchase medical marijuana.

Possession of up to 4 oz. of marijuana without a medical card is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year incarceration or $2,500 fine. Possession of drug paraphernalia is also illegal, and if you are caught with growing equipment you could face up to six years in prison.

cropped-caliweedbanner.jpg

California

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

California has become one of the most progressive states for marijuana laws. Medical marijuana use was legalized in 1996, and recreational use more recently in 2016. Recreational marijuana stores opened in January of 2018 and weed is now widely available in California to adults 21 or over. You are also able to grow and cultivate up to six plants in California.

The cannabis market in California is expected to reach over $5 billion by 2019, making it an attractive location for anyone looking to open a store.

Providing you are 21 or over, you are able to possess up to 28.5 grams of cannabis or up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis.

Unknown-55

Colorado

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

The very first state to legalize marijuana for recreational use has benefited largely. Colorado’s $105 million in tax revenue from marijuana sales is now being used to help the homeless, fight drug addiction, and aid mental health programs.

Anyone who is 21 or over is able to purchase up to 1 ounce of marijuana from one of the many retail marijuana stores. Colorado has become a popular spot for weed tourists- you can find a gram for as low as $12 and an ounce for $150.

Residents are able to purchase medical marijuana with a state red card, available to those with a doctor’s recommendation.

unknown-80

Connecticut

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Decriminalized

Connecticut residents with a medical marijuana certificate are generally able to obtain up to 2.5 ounces a month. Medical marijuana certificates are available from physicians for conditions such as cancer, HIV/AIDs, glaucoma, and PTSD.

Medical marijuana certificates are also available to patients under 18 through their parent or caregiver. However, minors are subject to stricter limits.

While recreational use still isn’t legal, possessing less than half an ounce only results in a civil penalty and sometimes a small fine.

Unknown-8

Delaware

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Medical marijuana is legal in Delaware, and patients with a doctor’s recommendation are able to buy from dispensaries- all of which grow their own marijuana. Medical marijuana patients in Delaware are able to possess up to six ounces of marijuana at a time.

Possession for non-patients is partly decriminalized. Being caught with an ounce or less will only result in a civil penalty and a maximum fine of $500. Anything from an ounce to 175 grams can result in 3 months incarceration, with harsher penalties for those carrying more.

Recreational use could very well be legal soon in Delaware with efforts to legalize marijuana underway.

Unknown-175

Florida

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Florida legalized medical marijuana in 2016, although medical marijuana usage was plagued by complex laws. While patients only used to be permitted to consume vaporizable marijuana, it is now legal for Florida patients to smoke medical marijuana.

Recreational use is still illegal and possession of 20 grams or less is punishable by up to a year’s imprisonment and fines of $1,000. This quadruples for possession of over 20 grams.

Efforts to decriminalize and legalize recreational marijuana use in Florida have largely fallen short, with no upcoming government initiatives to change these laws.

Unknown-172

Georgia

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

Medical marijuana patients in Georgia are only permitted to use CBD oil up to 5% THC by weight. While initially only available to epilepsy patients, a recent law passed has expanded the state’s medical marijuana program to include other ailments such as AIDs, Alzheimer’s disease, autism, and Tourette’s syndrome.

Recreational use is still illegal in Georgia with the possession of an ounce or less resulting in up to a year’s incarceration or $1,000 fine.

Unknown-179

Hawaii

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Hawaii patients with a range of conditions are able to get a 329 Registration Card with the Medical Cannabis Registry. Patients with registration cards can purchase marijuana from dispensaries as well as cultivate up to seven plants. Medical cannabis patients are able to possess up to four ounces.

Non-patients caught with less than an ounce of marijuana could face a $1,000 fine and up to 30 days in jail.

Hawaii lawmakers are currently in the process of creating a program to allow out-of-state medical marijuana patients to purchase marijuana from Hawaii dispensaries.

Unknown-178

Idaho

Medical use: Illegal

Recreational use: Illegal

Those looking to smoke marijuana in Idaho are likely to be disappointed. Laws are still far behind, with both medical and recreational use still being illegal. Efforts to legalize the use of CBD oil for patients with certain conditions have also failed.

Possession of up to 3 ounces is a misdemeanor punishable by a year’s incarceration and fines of up to $1,000. Any more than that amount can result in a felony and significantly harsher punishments.

images-114

Illinois

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Decriminalized

Illinois medical marijuana patients with a doctor’s note can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana within a 14-day period.

While possession of pot with intent to sell is illegal, owning under 10 ounces will only result in a civil violation with a fine of up to $200.

Legalization may be drawing closer in Chicago, with public polls suggesting most residents are in favor. It may come down to who is elected this November- current Governor Bruce Rauner has made his anti-pot stance clear while Democrat candidate J.B. Pritzker is in favor of legalizing marijuana for recreational purposes.

Unknown-148

Indiana

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

For the most part, marijuana is still illegal in Indiana, both for medical and recreational purposes. Thanks to a recent bill passed, CBD oil is now legal for everybody in Indiana providing it’s labeled as under 0.3% THC.

Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor in Indiana with punishments of up to 180 days incarceration and a maximum fine of $1,000.

With no upcoming initiatives to change marijuana laws in Indiana, it may be awhile before we see legalization in the Hoosier state.

Unknown-148

Iowa

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

While Iowa patients are able to get a medical marijuana card, they’re only permitted to use CBD oil up to 3% THC and 32 ounces. With limited cards issued and a small number of dispensaries opened, medical use of cannabis in Iowa is still very limited.

Possession of any amount of marijuana less than 50 kg (excluding CBD oil) can result in up to a 6-month sentence and $1,000 fine. Larger amounts and multiple offenses will result in more severe consequences.

 

Unknown-178

Kansas

Medical use: Illegal

Recreational use: Illegal

Kansas still has strict laws against cannabis. Possession of any amount for either medical or recreational purposes can lead to 6 months incarceration and a $1,000 fine.

CBD oil for medical purposes may be approved in Kansas legislature within this year. Other forms of medical marijuana and full legalization still seem a long way off.photo_15576338451081872520897664641174.jpg

Kentucky

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

Kentucky has a law exempting CBD oil from being defined as marijuana, meaning that while medical marijuana is still illegal, patients with conditions such as epilepsy are able to obtain and use any amount of CBD oil.

Possession laws are slightly less harsh in Kentucky, but possession of up to 8 ounces of cannabis is punishable by a maximum sentence of 45 days and fines of up to $250.

Unknown-178

Louisiana

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

Medical marijuana use is limited to CBD oil for patients with a range of conditions. The sale or possession of any form of smokable marijuana is still prohibited in Louisiana.

Recreational use is still illegal and punishable by up to 15 days incarceration and fines of up to $300. Punishments get significantly stricter for possession of 2.5 lbs or more, with a minimum of 2 years imprisonment and $10,000 fines.

There are no upcoming initiatives to change marijuana laws in Louisiana this year.

Unknown-149

Maine

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

Marijuana is legal in Maine both for recreational and medical purposes. Adults 21 or over are able to possess up to 2.5 ounces. They can also grow and gift up to seven plants at a time.

Smoking marijuana in public can get you a $100 fine in Maine, but residents are able to smoke in private as well as state-licensed clubs.

Patients with a medical marijuana club can obtain cannabis from a number of dispensaries. Non-medical users may still have to wait but recreational stores are set to open this year.

Maryland

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Decriminalized

 

Patients with a variety of conditions can be approved for medical marijuana in Maryland. This permits them to possess a month’s supply of approximately 4 ounces. Maryland’s medical marijuana system is growing with more dispensaries opening this year.

Marijuana for regular use has been partly decriminalized- possession of up to 10 grams is only a civil offense holding a fine of up to $100. Possession of 10 grams or over is a misdemeanor which can net you a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000, with harsher penalties for the possession of 50 lbs.

Unknown-172

Massachusetts

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

Massachusetts legalized medical marijuana use in 2012. Patients 18 years of age or older can get a physician’s recommendation for medical marijuana for certain debilitating conditions. A medical marijuana prescription allows patients can purchase up to a 60 day supply of up to 10 ounces from a dispensary.

Recreational use for adults 21 or over has also been legalized as of 2016. Although stores haven’t been opened yet, you can expect to purchase weed in Massachusetts very soon with marijuana stores expected to open July 1st.

Adults 21 or over are also able to grow up to 6 plants, although no more than 3 can be flowering at a time.

Michigan

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

Medical marijuana patients with a doctor’s recommendation can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of flower from Michigan dispensaries. Patients can also cultivate up to 12 plants.

Michigan natives may soon be able to enjoy weed recreationally- residents will be able to vote for pot legalization in Michigan this November.

If the initiative is approved, Michigan will be the first Midwestern state to legalize pot for recreational purposes. Local governments will be able to approve whether the sale of pot is allowed in their district.

791abd3f1a724f5ab3a7e896ed9bc617--funny-cops-smoke-weed

Minnesota

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Decriminalized

Minnesota laws allow patients with certain conditions to possess up to a month’s supply of medical marijuana. There are eight medical cannabis centers in Minnesota available for patients, however, these only sell non-plant products.

Minnesota has fairly relaxed laws on marijuana use and possession of anything less than 42.5 grams is only likely to result in a drug education program and a fine of up to $200.

img_20170911_191247_4483588788570734481861.jpg

Mississippi

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Decriminalized

Mississippi’s medical marijuana provisions only allow patients to use CBD oil, obtainable from two state universities. Currently, only patients with epilepsy are approved.

Marijuana use is decriminalized in Mississippi and possession of 30 grams or less will only result in a fine of up to $250. However, repeat offenses will result in a misdemeanor and the possession of anything over 30 grams is a felony.

Missouri

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Products with up to 0.3% THC and 5% CBD are permitted only for patients with epilepsy in Missouri. Medical marijuana may soon be legalized in Missouri with a bill that would allow patients with terminal illnesses to possess and consume smokeless marijuana.

Possession of marijuana in Missouri is a Class A misdemeanor holding a punishment of up a year’s incarceration and $1,000 fine.

In Dec, 2018, Missouri passed a bill to legalize medical marijuana.

Montana

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Montana patients with a Medical Card are able to possess up to an ounce of weed, available from Montana dispensaries. Medical marijuana patients are also able to cultivate up to 12 plants, with 4 mature at any given time.

Recreational use is still illegal and those in possession of cannabis without a Medical Card can face 6 months incarceration and a $500 fine.

There is no current active legislation to change marijuana laws in Montana.

Unknown-151

Nebraska

Medical use: Illegal

Recreational use: Decriminalized

Marijuana is illegal in all forms in Nebraska- legislation to legalize it has been shot down in the past and the governor is notoriously anti-marijuana.

There is a Nebraska Marijuana Decriminalization Initiative which may appear on the ballot for November 2018 if enough signatures are gathered.

The possession of small amounts of marijuana has been decriminalized in Nebraska- having one ounce will only result in a citation and a small fine. Multiple offenses can carry harsher punishments, and possession of anything over an ounce is a felony.

photo_15487046559597173296280667584274.jpg

Nevada

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

Recreational use of marijuana was legalized in Nevada in 2017. Anyone 21 years of age or older is permitted to possess up to an ounce of marijuana. Medical marijuana patients are permitted to cultivate up to six plants, providing they are over 25 miles away from a dispensary.

Marijuana stores are plentiful in Reno and Las Vegas and you can purchase a gram for around $12-20 on average.

Nevada has stricter DUI laws than most states and driving with 2 Nanograms of THC per mL of blood (as opposed to the usual 5) can result in a DUI.

New Hampshire

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Medical marijuana is available for patients for a wide variety of symptoms under the Therapeutic Cannabis Program in New Hampshire. Patients can possess up to two ounces of cannabis from New Hampshire dispensaries.

Marijuana possession has been partly decriminalized in New Hampshire- possession of up to ¾ of an ounce will only result in a maximum fine of $100. Anything over is a misdemeanor with harsher punishments including a year’s incarceration.

Unknown-180

New Jersey

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Medical marijuana patients in New Jersey can possess up to two ounces of marijuana per month.

Possession of marijuana for non-patients is still illegal and punishable by 6 months incarceration and fines of up to $1,000.

There are current efforts to change marijuana laws in New Jersey, a recent bill introduced by a state senator aims to address both medical and recreational marijuana. If it were to become law, many more dispensaries would open, recreational pot would be legalized, and public smoking lounges would be opened in New Jersey.

images-9

New Mexico

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

New Mexico legalized medical marijuana in 2007. Medical marijuana patients are able to purchase up to eight ounces of medical cannabis from one of New Mexico’s various state dispensaries.

Patients can also cultivate up to 16 plants, although only 4 can be mature at a time. Medical cards are available for conditions including anorexia, arthritis, hepatitis C, cancer, PTSD, and various others.

Possession for recreational use is still illegal and punishable by fines and jail time.

Unknown-181.jpeg

New York

Medical use: Limited

Recreational use: Decriminalized

Medical marijuana is legal in New York for approved patients but smokable cannabis is specifically banned. State dispensaries provide oils, capsules, patches, ointments, and other CBD/THC based products to cardholders.

New York is one of the states to decriminalize marijuana and possession of up to 25 grams will only result in a fine with no jail time.

Legalization may be on the horizon in New York with current government studies ongoing to assess what the consequences would be.

images-12

North Carolina

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Decriminalized

While North Carolina epilepsy patients can get approved for medical marijuana, they are limited to 5% CBD oil with less than 0.9% THC. With no dispensaries in the state, patients are also forced to get oil from out of state.

Marijuana is decriminalized in North Carolina and possession of 0.5 ounces or less will only result in a fine of up to $500 but no jail time, albeit still a misdemeanor.

North Dakota

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Voters in North Dakota passed a medical marijuana initiative in 2016, allowing patients with certain medical conditions to be able to possess up to 3 ounces of marijuana. Dispensaries have started opening up in North Dakota this year making medical marijuana available to patients.

For non-patients, possession of under 0.5 ounces is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in prison and $1,000 fines. Possession of over 0.5 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor and can result in up a year’s incarceration.

An initiative for recreational marijuana legalization may reach the ballot this November providing enough signatures are gathered.

images-14

Ohio

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Decriminalized

Although Ohio legalized medical marijuana in 2016, they are still working on getting it to patients. Dispensaries are expected to open by September 2018. Patients with one of 21 conditions will be able to obtain up to a 90-day supply of medical marijuana.

Ohio is one of the 13 states to decriminalize marijuana and possession of under 100 grams is only a minor misdemeanor carrying a maximum fine of $250.

It’s also another state where legalization may come soon if the initiative to legalize gains enough signatures to reach the November ballot.

images-14

Oklahoma

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

Oklahoma passed its first medical marijuana law in 2015, allowing patients of any age with epilepsy, paraplegia, and intractable nausea and vomiting to obtain certain FDA-approved  CBD products with less than 3% THC. There is currently no dispensaries in Oklahoma and patients usually have to look out of state.

Residents will be able to vote on State Question 788 on the 26th of June. If approved, medical marijuana patients in Oklahoma will be able to possess up to 8 ounces of marijuana at home and cultivate up to 6 mature plants and 6 seedlings.

Marijuana laws are still very strict in Oklahoma and possession of any amount can result in hefty fines and jail time.

Unknown-174

Oregon

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

Recreational weed is legal in Oregon and residents aged 21 or over are able to keep up to eight ounces at home and carry up to an ounce in public. However, public consumption is still prohibited. Adults can also cultivate up to four plants.

Tax-free marijuana is available to medical marijuana cardholders. Out of state residents are also available to obtain cards in Oregon.

Oregon’s liberal marijuana laws make it an attractive location for entrepreneurs looking to open marijuana stores and tourists looking to light up.

Pennsylvania

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

While Pennsylvania legalized medical marijuana in 2016, developments have been slow. Pennsylvania’s first marijuana dispensaries only opened earlier in 2018.

Pennsylvania’s laws prohibit patients from using smokable marijuana- dispensaries offer products such as oils, pills, tinctures, and topical creams.

Possession of marijuana in Pennsylvania can result in 30 days incarceration and $500 fines for 30 grams or less.

Unknown-140

Rhode Island

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Decriminalized

Rhode Island legalized medical marijuana in 2006. Patients with a physician’s certificate for debilitating illnesses can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and cultivate up to 12 plants.

Rhode Island has also decriminalized marijuana- possession of less than an ounce for personal use is only a civil violation carrying a $150 fine.

The future of legalization in Rhode Island is uncertain as of now with attempts to legalize marijuana stalled until 2019.

images-14

South Carolina

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

While medical marijuana is still illegal in South Carolina, “Julian’s Law” allows patients with severe forms of epilepsy to use low-THC CBD oil to treat their illness.

There are currently bills in the legislature to legalize medical marijuana as well as recreational marijuana for veterans. While these are considered unlikely to pass, local advocates believe medical marijuana could be legal in South Carolina by 2019.

Possession of an ounce or less is a misdemeanor which can result in 30 days jail time, with harsher penalties for repeat offenses or the intent to sell.

Unknown-183

South Dakota

Medical use: Illegal

Recreational use: Illegal

Unlike its northern neighbor, South Dakota is still very much anti-marijuana with attempts to legalize medical marijuana repeatedly rejected from the ballot.

Possession of 2 ounces or less of marijuana can result in a year’s incarceration and a maximum fine of $2,000. Anything over 2 ounces is a felony and carries harsher penalties.

With the hostile attitude towards marijuana in South Dakota, it may be some time before any form of legalization is seen in the Mount Rushmore state.

Unknown-183

Tennessee

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

Under Tennessee law, licensed physicians can recommend patients with uncontrollable seizure disorders cannabis oil less than 0.9% THC. A recent effort to legalize medical cannabis in Tennessee has currently been halted.

Marijuana is still illegal in Tennessee and possession can lead to 1 year of jail time and a $250 fine for up to half an ounce, with harsher penalties for greater amounts.

Despite more than 30 marijuana-related bills reaching Tennessee legislature for the recent 2017-2018 session, none of these bills were enacted.

Texas

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

The Texas Compassionate Use Act legalizes the sale of cannabis oil to epilepsy patients. Those with a doctor’s prescription are able to purchase CBD oil with less than 0.5% THC from Texas dispensaries. These laws are not ideal, with a very limited amount of dispensaries and patients still finding it hard to get their hands on suitable products.

Texas has fairly harsh penalties for marijuana possession- being caught with 2 ounces or less can result in up to 180 days incarceration and a maximum fine of $2,000.

So far, it doesn’t look like any changes will be made to Texas marijuana laws until 2019.

Unknown-150

Utah

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

Utah has a limited medical marijuana program, enabling recommended epilepsy and terminally ill patients to use cannabis oil up to 15% CBD and no more than 0.3% THC. Attempts to expand the medical marijuana program fell short.

There is a Medical Marijuana Initiative on the Utah ballot for November 2018 which will expand the program if it gains enough support.

Vermont

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

Vermont is the latest state to legalize recreational marijuana and the first to do so via legislation as opposed to a voter referendum. As of July 2018, adults 21 or over in Vermont will be permitted to possess up to an ounce of marijuana and cultivate up to six plants with two mature at a time.

Vermont’s Medical Marijuana program is open to patients with debilitating illnesses and allows them to possess up to two ounces from one of its state dispensaries.

Marijuana must be smoked on private property and possession of any more than an ounce for non-patients can result in incarceration and fines.

Unknown-80

Virginia

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

A Medical Marijuana bill passed in Virginia recently allowing patients with prescriptions to use certain cannabis oil products. They are able to use CBD, THC-A, and rosin oil providing it contains no more than 5% THC.

A bill to decriminalize marijuana in Virginia was rejected this year and there are no initiatives to legalize it on the ballot this year. Penalties are fairly strict with possession of any amount resulting in incarceration and fines.

Unknown-182

Washington

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

Washington has benefited largely from being one of the first states to legalize recreational marijuana use through a voter referendum. As of 2018, the state has pulled in upwards of $1 billion from marijuana sales.

Adults 21 or over can possess up to an ounce of weed. Stores are now open all over the state and visitors and residents can purchase a gram legally for as little as $6-10.

Washington’s medical marijuana program has been going strong since 2016. Patients with certain ailments can possess up to 3 ounces of plant-based marijuana in and 216 ounces of liquid-based marijuana.

Unknown-185

Washington D.C.

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Legal

While not technically a state, the US capital has its own laws on marijuana. Both medical and recreational use of marijuana has been legalized and adults 21 or over can have up to two ounces and six plants (with three maturing).

Medical marijuana is available from dispensaries to any patient considered to have a debilitating condition by a licensed doctor.

Public consumption is still illegal and lighting up in public can result in a civil penalty with a fine of $100.

West Virginia

Medical use: Legal

Recreational use: Illegal

Despite enacting a law to legalize medical marijuana in 2017, the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act won’t allow patients to obtain cannabis until July 2019.

Patients with a range of debilitating conditions will be able to get a licensed physician’s recommendation to obtain a 30-day supply of non-smokable cannabis.

Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months of jail time with fines of up to $1,000. With no marijuana initiatives on this year’s ballot, things won’t progress in West Virginia until 2019 at the earliest.

Unknown-184

Wisconsin

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

While a medical marijuana provision in Wisconsin enables patients to use CBD oil, it’s impossible to access in the state making things difficult for patients.

Possession is a misdemeanor carrying a punishment of up to 6 months incarceration and $1,000 fines. Subsequent offenses are a felony carrying harsher punishments.

Wisconsin’s marijuana laws have been highly criticised, but initiatives to improve the medical marijuana program, legalize recreational use, and decriminalize pot have all been shot down.

Wyoming

Medical use: Limited to CBD oil

Recreational use: Illegal

Wyoming medical marijuana patients are permitted to use oils of at least 5% CBD and up to 0.3% THC. However, there is currently no system in place for patients to obtain it.

Possession of up to 3 ounces in Wyoming can get you a year of incarceration and a fine of up to $1,000. Anything over 3 ounces is a felony punishable by up to 5 years of prison and $10,000 fines.

There are no marijuana initiatives on the 2018 ballot for Wyoming.

 

Unknown-171

Wrapping it Up

While still far from legal in some states, it’s clear America is becoming progressively more liberal when it comes to marijuana. California, Colorado, and Washington lead the way in terms of sales, but states like Nevada, Massachusetts, and Maine are fast-growing markets with huge potential. Expect to see more states legalizing weed in the upcoming years.

images-4
CANNABIS CANTINA CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE

http://www.marijuanaseo.com

Credited for the states laws

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s